Barclays Center Brooklyn NY

Zeit und Ort

Samstag, Apr 6 | 01:00

Barclays Center
Brooklyn, NY

Wo es läuft

Holt Euch das Network

When to watch

Samstag, Apr 6 | 01:00

WWE NXT Ergebnisse : Alle Details

 

NXT Tag Team Champions The War Raiders besiegten Aleister Black & Ricochet

Körper fliegen in explosivem NXT Tag Team Titel Match: NXT TakeOver: New York (WWE Network Exclusive)

Das NXT-Universum rastet aus, als die NXT Tag Team Champions The War Raiders gegen Aleister Black & Ricochet antreten: Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von WWE Network.

Wer im Krieg zögert, ist derjenige, der verliert. Leider wurde diese Lektion für Aleister Black & Ricochet in den letzten Minuten eines Vollgas-Tag-Team-Showdowns gegen NXTs Barbaren-Thron, The War Raiders, gelernt. 

Nachdem Black & Ricochet alle erdenklichen Kombinationen im Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic überwunden hatten, einschließlich einer gut geölten #DIY-Wiedervereinigung, brachten Black & Ricochet den Sturm zu den viel gepriesenen Hanson & Rowe. Aber inmitten ihres rasanten Tempos teilten beide Seiten nichts als Respekt. Einen Fist-Bump gab es zwischen Rowe und Black, als sie die Begegnung mit exzellentem Mattenwrestling begannen, gefolgt von einem Stare-Down zwischen allen vier Superstars, die eine ziemliche Sackgasse darstellten. Bei allem Feuer, das von den flinken und wilden Herausforderern geschürt wurde, half die unerbittliche Offensive der Champions, größere Beulen in ihrer Rüstung zu vermeiden.

In den ersten Momenten, als Black Rowe mit blitzschnellen Hieben im Ring torpedierte, reagierte der moderne Wikinger mit einem strafenden Knietritt gegen Kiefer. Die Action intensivierte sich, als Hanson einmarschierte, als er beide Herausforderer wie einen Rammbock in die Ringecke trieb. Die Menge geriet in Aufregung, nachdem Ricochet das Superschwergewicht mit einem erstaunlichen Fallaway-Slam über die Matte wirbelte.

Von dort aus sollte er es schwer haben, die Action zu kontrollieren. Nachdem die War Raiders versuchten Ricochet nach einer Reihe von Doppelangriffen zu pinnen, vereitelte der Dutch Destroyer den Angriff mit einem Diving-kick, der später mit der sich aus dem Ring verlagernden Action gipfelte und von dort aus einen Flying-Senton von Hanson begrüßte, der jeden dort draußen zerquetschte.

Black & Ricochet schienen nur wenige Augenblicke vom Sieg entfernt zu sein, als The Striking Man aus Amsterdam Rowe mit einer Black Mass traf, worauf ein 630 Splash von The One and Only folgte. Hanson verhinderte die drei Schläge auf die Matte, was dazu führte, dass das mächtige Duo Black aus dem Ring warf und Ricochet mit dem Fallout in die Bretter schickte, um den Sieg davonzutragen. 

Die tapfere Leistung von Black & Ricochet führte zu einer Geste des gegenseitigen Respekts, denn Hanson & Rowe umarmten ihre Herausforderer und verneigten sich vor ihnen. Obwohl sich das Duo auf die SmackDown Tag Team-Titel bei WrestleMania vorbereitete, gab es eine unglaubliche Leistung ab. Dennoch behielten Hanson & Rowe im Kampf um den Thron die Krone, um ihre Herrschaft über die Tag Team Division der schwarz-gelben Marke zu behalten.

 

NXT North American Champion Velveteen Dream besiegte Matt Riddle

Velveteen Dream geht auf Matt Riddle los, um den NXT North American Titel zu bewahren: NXT TakeOver: New York (WWE Network Exclusive)

Nach einem heftigen Angriff von Matt Riddle entscheidet der NXT North American Champion Velveteen Dream, dass er genug hat und schlägt heftig zurück: Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von WWE Network.

Und als sich die Sterne über dem Barclays Center ausrichteten, erhellten zwei Worte die Skyline des Big Apple: "Dream TakeOver".

Nach einem wahrhaft epischen Showdown, der das Beste aus beiden Konkurrenten herausholte, zerschlug Velveteen Dream die Pläne seines Gegners, TakeOver als Champion zu verlassen. Aber das heißt nicht, dass Riddle nicht mit Schwung unterging.

Nach einem Show-stoppenden Einzug, wollte Dream Matt Riddle eine Lektion erteilen, wie er sein Rampenlicht teilt. Riddle zeigte zu Beginn seine gekonnte Beinarbeit und führte den Champion in seinen Mixed-Martial-Arts Background ein. Von dort an kam es zu einer ausgeglichenen Kraftprobe, als sie sich wie ein Spiel von "Tausendfüßler" ineinander verkeilten, bevor Riddles Armbar-Versuch durch einen Gegenspieler Dream verdorben wurde. Als Dream sich einen Moment Zeit nahm, um sich in seiner Größe zu sonnen, antwortete ein aggressives Riddle mit aufeinanderfolgenden Powerslams, bevor der Champion einen dritten Versuch mit einem Roll-up-Pin umkehrte. Die abwechselnden Konter verlagerten sich nach außerhalb des Rings, als Dream sah, wie sein Diving-Double-Handle in einen German Suplex umgewandelt wurde.

Riddle setzte seinen aggressiven Angriff fort und faltete Dream mit ein paar weiteren German Suplessen im Ring zusammen. Der physische Schlagabtausch entwickelte sich bald von einem Kraftakt zu einem vollwertigen Nahkampf, da Riddle sich weiterhin dafür einsetzte, seinen Gegner mit einer Flut von qualvollen Aufgabemanövern und qualvollen Griffen am Boden zu halten. Dream hatte aber auch seine Momente und verpasste seinem Herausforderer einen Dream DDT und Dream Driver. Der stets robuste Riddle weigerte sich am Boden zu bleiben, und schlug noch stärker zurück. Als Dream versuchte, die Ringecke für einen weiteren Luftangriff zu erklimmen, hüpfte The Original Bro auf die Beine und packte einen weiteren hämmernden German Suplex aus, gefolgt von einem Floating Bro vom obersten Seil, der das gesamte NXT-Universum in einen Rausch versetzte.

Aber der Scheinwerfer gehört nur einem Superstar. Als Riddle einem Purple Rainmaker eine weitere Bromission entgegensetzte, packte Dream bemerkenswert einen einzigartigen Konter aus, und rollte seinen Herausforderer zum 1-2-3 ein.

Neben dem Erfolg, den Big Apple in Dreamland zu verwandeln, akzeptierte The Dream später eine Fist-Bump und würdigte Riddles Leistungen, was der NXT North American Champion zu Beginn des Titelmatchs weigerte zu tun.

 

WALTER besiegte Pete Dunne und wurde neuer WWE United Kingdom Champion

Von Wien in den Big Apple, eine österreichische Anomalie eroberte die Stadt, die niemals schläft. WALTER, der keine Zeit vergeudet hat, um bei TakeOver:Blackpool dieTop-Krone von NXT UK ins Fadenkreuz zu holen, zog den Teppich unter Pete Dunnes 685-tägiger Regentschaft weg, um der neue WWE United Kingdom Champion zu werden, was das erste Mal seit fast zwei Jahren ist, dass der Championtitel den Besitzer wechselt.

Die Austrian Anomaly überdauerte den BruiserWeight in einem klassischen, knallharten Konflikt, der das Barclays Center in Ehrfurcht versetzte. Die epischen Proportionen dieses Matchs waren sofort spürbar, als Dvořáks Symphonie Nr. 9 WALTER in den Ring führte, während in der ganzen Arena darüber geflüstert wurde, ob Dunne seine bisher größte Probe überwinden könnte. Es dauerte nicht lange, bis dieser sofortige Klassiker den höchsten Gang einlegte, denn das Titelmatch begann mit einem Wrestling-Fest, bei dem Dunne seinen Manipulationstendenzen frönte und WALTER seine gepanzerte Offensive wie ein Panzer entlud.

Die Rivalen verbrachten die meiste Zeit der ersten Halbzeit damit, sich mit ihren jeweiligen In-Ring-Stilen abzutasten, darunter Dunnes anspruchsvolles Mattenspiel und WALTERs zermürbende Kraft. Als der BruiserWeight in einem schmerzhaften Leg-Lock gefangen war, antwortete der  österreichische Panzer mit einer brutalen Boston-Crab. Kurz darauf, als WALTER versuchte, Dunne mit einem Superplex vom Spannschloss durch den Ring zu schleudern, glitt der BrusierWeight weg und ließ den wandelnden Güterzug mit einer Powerbomb auf die Matte sinken. Beide Superstars zeigten explosive Kraft und zeigten, warum ihre jeweiligen Wege hier bei TakeOver aufeinander trafen.

WALTER wurde seine Entscheidung, zu gewährleisten, dass Dunne erkennt, dass er seiner größten Bedrohung ausgesetzt war, fast zum Verhängnis. Er zog alle Register und versuchte einen Body-Splash vom oberen Seil, bevor der BrusierWeight ihn mit einem Triangle-Aufgabegriff gefangen nahm. Die Menge in Brooklyn reagierte mit einem höllischen Gebrüll, als die Hartnäckigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit des Champions der übermächtigen Kraft des Herausforderers trotzte. Dunne war kurz davor den Sieg zu holen, als er ein Bitter End ablieferte, aber WALTER reagierte mit einem wundersamen Kickout. Nach wildem Schlagabtausch fanden sich die beiden oben auf dem Spannschloss in der Ringecke wieder, wo WALTER Dunne mit einer übermächtigen Powerbomb durch den Ring schickte, die das Fundament des Barclay Centers bis ins Mark hätte erschüttern können.

Der entscheidende Moment kam innerhalb von Sekunden, als WALTER keine Zeit vergeudete und zur Ringecke zurückkehrte, wo er Dunne mit einem gigantischen Body-Splash vom Spannschloss  platt machte, um den WWE United Kingdom Titel zu holen.

Es war alles andere als einfach, aber als sich der Staub bei dieser epischen Kollision legte, stand der neueste König und die zerstörerischste Kraft, die mit Dunne zu kämpfen hatte, auf dem Thron von NXT UK . 

 

NXT Women's Champion Shayna Baszler besiegte Bianca Belair, Io Shirai aud Kairi Sane (Fatal 4-Way Match)

Kairi Sane und Io Shirai schließen sich für einen Luftangriff zusammen: NXT TakeOver: New York (WWE Network Exclusive)

Kairi Sane und Io Shirai verbünden sich gegen Bianca Belair und Shayna Baszler in einem wilden Fatal 4-Way Match um Baszlers NXT Women's Titel: Mit freundlicher Genehmigung von WWE Network.

Shayna Baszler war vielleicht nicht allzu glücklich, nachdem sie die Nachricht erhalten hatte, dass die Quoten im Fatal 4-Way-Match gegen sie stehen würden, da sie nicht gepinnt werden musste, um ihren wertvollen NXT Women's Titel zu verlieren, aber wie sie in den letzten beiden TakeOvers gezeigt hat, ist Widrigkeit der Energy Drink des Champions. Frühere Schlachten gegen Kairi Sane bei TakeOver: WarGames II, Bianca Belair bei TakeOver: Phoenix, und eine Begegnung mit Io Shirai in einer Six-Woman Tag Team Action am 6. Februar von NXT bereiteten die Queen of Spades darauf vor, den Wahnsinn zu überleben.

Zu Beginn dieser hektischen Auseinandersetzung gingen alle vier Teilnehmerinnen mit ungezügelter Wut aufeinander los. Fast sofort rechnete Baszler mit Shirai ab, während Belair es mit Sane aufnahm. Nachdem Baszler und Belair ihre Rivalinnen ausgeschaltet hatten, machten sie sich bald daran, dort anzuknüpfen, wo ihr vorheriges Einzelmatch aufgehört hatte. Aber wie im New Yorker Verkehr gerieten die Dinge bald außer Kontrolle. An einem Punkt gab es einen doppelten Powerbomb-Superplex von allen vier Teilnehmerinnen von der Ringecke, und dann gab es einen Gorilla Press Slam von Belair, der Shirai über Sane und Baszler warf. Dann gab es eine Doppel-Offensive von Shirai und Sane, zu der auch ein In-Sane Ellbow gehörte, der die Pirate Princess über das obere Seil nach draußen auf Belair und Baszler schickte, von denen letztere mit einem schillernden Moonsault von The Genius of the Sky zusammengefaltet wurde.

Nach einem hektischen Hin und Her, bei dem sogar Shirai und Sane ihre Freundschaft in den Hintergrund drängten, lieferte Belair den Moment der Nacht, den man unbedingt sehen sollte, als sie ihre überwältigende Kraft nutzte, um beide Sky Pirates über ihre Schultern zu heben und einen K.O.D. zu landen. Obwohl The EST Sekunden von einem Sieg entfernt war, dämpfte die Queen of Spades erneut den Lärm, indem sie Belair in einen Kirifuda Clutch saugte. Belair tat alles, was sie konnte, um dem gefährlichen Manöver zu entkommen, schlug wild um sich, und krallte sich verzweifelt in das Gesicht der Titeltrögerin , aber The EST of NXT hatte schließlich keine andere Wahl, als sich zu ergeben und der Queen of Spades zu erlauben, ihren Titel mit einem knackigen  Sieg zu behalten.

 

Johnny Gargano besiegte Adam Cole in 2-out-of-3 Falls Match und gewann den NXT Championtitel

Und Euer neuer NXT Champion ist.....

Die Reisen von Johnny Gargano und Adam Cole, obwohl in ihren Routen unterschiedlich, kreuzten sich im Barclays Center. Da beide Wege von Blut, Schweiß und Tränen durchdrungen sind, ist es auch ihr Ziel, den Hauptpreis von NXT zu gewinnen. Coles streben, sich den Wunsch nach dem NXT Titel zu erfüllen, schließt sich im Barclays Center, dem gleichen Ort, an dem auch sein Debüt bei TakeOver: Brooklyn III stattfand, Gargano wollte es einfach mehr. Wie bei einem Billy Joel-Konzert im Madison Square Garden erfüllte stehender Applaus die Arena, als Gargano Cole besiegte, um der neueste NXT Champion zu werden.

Eine echte Kraftprobe wurde dem NXT Universe beschert, als Gargano und Cole in einem der emotional bewegendsten NXT Championtitel Matches aller Zeiten alles gaben. Die Kulisse war elektrisierend, als die Gesänge von "Adam Cole (BAY BAY!)" und "Johnny Wrestling" durch die Arena schwirrten. Um die Begegnung zu eröffnen, lieferten die erfahrenen Kontrahenten eine Lehrbuchvorführung über grundlegendes Mat-Game-Wrestling ab, indem sie sich permanent mit Griffen und Kontern abwechselten. An einem Punkt legte Gargano fast einen Gargano Escape an, bevor Cole nach dem Seil griff. Später setzte Cole zu seinen eigenen Aufgabemanövern an und wechselte von einem Headlock zu einem Dragon-Sleeper. Als der Angriffskampf weiterging, steckte Cole bald einen Slingshot-Spear ein, der fast den ersten Pinfall zur Folge hatte. Der  Panama City Playboy nutzte dies scheinbar als Treibstoff und holte schließlich den ersten Pinfall, nachdem er Gargano mit dem Last Shot niedergeschlagen hatte.

Die Pin-Zählung legte den Turbo in Johnny Wrestling ein, da er sich mit einem Hagel von Schlägen revanchierte, bevor er Cole aus dem Ring spearte. Johnny zog alle Register und borgte sich eine Seite von seinem ehemaligen #DIY Tag Teampartner, Tommaso Ciampa, indem er Cole mit einem Air Raid Crash vom Spannschloss auf den Rücken schickte. Gargano folgte dann mit einem Slingshot DDT auf die unnachgiebige Ringumrandung. Als die beiden sich mit Aufgabegriffen in der Mitte des Rings abwechselten, umklammerte Gargano seinen Gegner mit einem Gargano Escape, der Cole zur Aufgabe zwang. Und dann wurde das Feuer dieser umkämpften Schlacht geschürt.

Wo Cole einen widerhallenden Superkick in den Rücken von Gargano abgab, gefolgt von einem Straight Jacket German Suplex, lieferte der robuste Gargano einen umgekehrten Hurricanrana ab, der seinen Gegner nach draußen zwang. Der Kampf wurde hässlich, als Cole Gargano mit einem weiteren harten German Suplex auf die Ringschürze warf. Der immer robustere Gargano synchronisierte sich bemerkenswert in einen Slingshot DDT, der das Dach vom Barclays Center wegfegte, aber Cole gewann die Oberhand zurück, indem er sich vom zweiten Seil stürzte, um seinen Gegner mit einem Canadian Destroyer zu Boden zu schicken.

Der Big Apple Showdown verlagerte sich dann nach draußen, wo Cole soweit ging Gargano zu beleidigen, indem er eine Seite aus Ciampas Lehrbuch stahl und ihn mit einem Fairytale Ending auf das Kommentatoren Pult schickte. Johnny Wrestling überstand einen Count-Out und sprang zurück in den Ring und wurde mit einem Meeting in the Middle empfangen. Als Gargano den Kickout machte, folgte Cole mit noch mehr Intensität. Er führte einen weiteren Last Shot durch, bei dem ein weiterer Pin-Versuch durch einen Kickout vereitelt wurde. Cole entlud seine Angriffsreserven und versuchte später einen Luftangriff, dem ein Gargano Escape entgegenstand.

Undisputed ERA schloss sich dem Chaos an, um ihrem Kameraden Stärke in Zahlen zu verleihen. Obwohl Bobby Fish und Kyle O'Reilly Gargano einen High & Low verpassten, als der Ringrichter außer Gefecht gesetzt war, trotzte der Superheld der schwarz-gelben Marke allen Widrigkeiten. Nachdem er Roderick Strong, O'Reilly und Fish mit einer Flut von Angriffsmanövern neutralisiert hatte, sprang Gargano zurück in den Ring, wo er auf einen weiteren schnellen Last Shot traf, was zu einem weiteren irrsinnigen Kickout führte. Gargano konterte dann einen weiteren hektischen Angriff von Cole, um einen Gargano Escape zu fixieren, und nach mehreren angespannten Sekunden klopfte Cole verzweifelt ab, um Gargano seinen ersten NXT Championtitel zu bescheren.

Der emotionale Sieg ließ viele mit Freudentränen zurück, darunter Ciampa, der auf der Bühne auftauchte, um neben dem neuen Champion und Candice LeRae, und seinen ehemaligen Gegner mit einer Umarmung überraschte, die die herzerwärmende Natur von Garganos Sieg weiter verdeutlichte. Dieses neueste Kapitel beschreibt 2019 als Garganos Jahr der "Siege und Championtitel". Haken auf der Bucket List.

View photos | Video highlights
"> Barclays Center Brooklyn NY

Time and location

Friday, Apr 5 | 7/6 PMC

Barclays Center
Brooklyn, NY

Where to watch

Get the Network

When to watch

Friday, Apr 5 | 7/6 PMC

WWE NXT Results : Full Details

 

NXT Tag Team Champions The War Raiders def. Aleister Black & Ricochet

Bodies fly in explosive NXT Tag Team Title Match: NXT TakeOver: New York (WWE Network Exclusive)

The NXT Universe erupts as NXT Tag Team Champions The War Raiders clash with Aleister Black & Ricochet: Courtesy of WWE Network.

He who hesitates in war is he who has lost. Unfortunately for Aleister Black & Ricochet, that lesson was learned in the final minutes of a full-throttle tag team showdown against NXT’s barbarous throne, The War Raiders. 

After overcoming every conceivable combination in the Dusty Rhodes Tag Team Classic, including a well-oiled #DIY reunion, Black & Ricochet brought the storm to the much-grizzled Hanson & Rowe. But, in the midst of their fast-paced, both sides shared nothing but respect. A fist bump was shared between Rowe and Black, as they started the bout with excellent mat-wrestling, followed by a stare down between all four Superstars that presented quite the stalemate. For all the fire thrown by the swift and fierce challengers, the champions’ unrelenting offense helped repress extensive dents in their armor.

In the early goings, as Black torpedoed Rowe with blistering strikes around the ring, the modern-day Viking responded with a punishing knee strike to the jaw. The action intensified once Hanson tagged in, as he rammed both challengers into the turnbuckle like a battering ram. The crowd went into a tizzy after Ricochet flung the super heavyweight across the canvas with an astounding fallaway slam.

From there, the 82nd airborne would’ve had a hard time controlling the action. After War Raiders sought to pin Ricochet following a series of tandem offense, The Dutch Destroyer thwarted the attack with a diving kick, which later culminated with the action spilling out of the ring and from there welcomed a flying senton by Hanson that squashed everyone on the outside.

Black & Ricochet appeared to be moments away from victory when The Striking Man from Amsterdam struck Rowe with a Black Mass that was then followed by a 630 Splash from The One and Only. Hanson prevented the three-count, leading to the mighty duo tossing Black out of the ring and planting Ricochet into the canvas with the Fallout to claim victory. 

The valiant effort by Black & Ricochet resulted in a mutual show of respect, as Hanson & Rowe hugged their challengers and gave them a bow. As the fast-and-furious tandem prepare to go for the SmackDown Tag Team Titles at WrestleMania, they delivered one heck of a pre-game. Still, in the fight for the throne, Hanson & Rowe retained the crown to maintain their rule over the black-and-gold brand's Tag Team division.

 

NXT North American Champion Velveteen Dream def. Matt Riddle

Velveteen Dream unloads on Matt Riddle in a bid to retain his NXT North American Title: NXT TakeOver: New York (WWE Network Exclusive)

After a blistering attack from Matt Riddle, NXT North American Champion Velveteen Dream decides he's had enough and ferociously strikes back: Courtesy of WWE Network.

And as the stars aligned over Barclays Center, two words lit up the Big Apple skyline: “Dream TakeOver.”

To quote a legendary Brooklyn, N.Y. native, Matt Riddle realized his plans of leaving TakeOver as champion “was all a dream.” Following a truly epic showdown that pulled the best out of both competitors, Velveteen Dream dashed his opponent’s plans like the MTA subway line at rush hour. But that’s not to say Riddle didn’t go down swinging.

Following a showstopping entrance that added new meaning behind Billie Eilish’s “you should see me in a crown,” Dream sought to teach Riddle a lesson in sharing his spotlight. Riddle put his educated feet to work early, introducing the champion to his mixed martial arts background. From there came a test of strength stalemate, as they locked into each other like a game of “Centipede,” before Riddle saw his armbar attempt spoiled by a counter from Dream. As Dream took a moment to bask in his greatness, an aggressive Riddle answered back with back-to-back powerslams before the champion reversed a third attempt with a roll-up pin. The counter exchanges spilled outside the ring, as Dream saw his diving double axe handle reversed into a German suplex.

Riddle continued his aggressive onslaught, folding Dream with a few more German suplexes in the ring. The physical contest soon evolved from show of strength to a full-on melee, as Riddle remained committed to keeping his opponent down with a flurry of excruciating submission holds and punishing grapples. Dream, however, went for broke as well, even going as far as dropping his challenger with a Dream DDT and Dream Driver. Refusing to go down, the ever-resilient Riddle bounced back stronger. As Dream attempted to climb the turnbuckle for another aerial attack, The Original Bro hopped up and latched on another spine-tingling German suplex followed by a Floating Bro (a moonsault turned senton) from the top rope, that put the entire NXT Universe in a frenzy.

But the spotlight belongs to one Superstar. As Riddle countered a Purple Rainmaker for another Bromission, the Dream remarkably pulled off a unique reversal of his own, rolling up the challenger to score the 1-2-3.

Besides succeeding in turning the Big Apple into Dreamland, The Dream later acknowledged the hard-fought effort from Riddle by accepting a fist bump, which the NXT North American Champion refused to do at the start of the title fight.

 

WALTER def. Pete Dunne to become WWE United Kingdom Champion

In the words of MF Doom, “Just remember ALL CAPS when you spell the man’s name.” WALTER, who wasted no time setting his sights on NXT UK’s top crown at TakeOver: Blackpool, pulled the rug out from under Pete Dunne’s 685-day reign to become the new WWE United Kingdom Champion, marking the first time in nearly two years that the championship changed hands.

The Austrian Anomaly outlasted The BrusierWeight in a classic heavy-hitting clash that left the Barclays Center in awe. The epic proportions of this match were immediately felt once Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 ushered WALTER to the ring, all as the whispers of whether Dunne could overcome his greatest in-ring test to date fluttered throughout the arena. It wasn’t long before this instant classic revved into high gear, as the title fight began with a grappling fest that saw Dunne indulge in his joint-manipulating tendencies and WALTER unload his armored tank-like offense.

The rivals spent most of the first half feeling each other out with their respective in-ring styles, including Dunne’s sophisticated mat game and WALTER’s grueling strength. When The BruiserWeight locked in a painstaking leg lock, the moving Austrian tank answered with a vicious Boston crab. Moments after, as WALTER attempted to thrust Dunne across the ring with a superplex from the turnbuckle, The BrusierWeight slipped away and dropped the walking freight train with a powerbomb. Both Superstars showed off explosive power, demonstrating why their respective paths collided here at TakeOver.

WALTER was undone by his decision to ensure that Dunne recognize he was facing his biggest threat. He pulled out all stops and attempted a body splash from the top rope, before The BrusierWeight trapped him in with a triangle submission hold. The Brooklyn crowd responded with a gallant roar, as the champion’s tenacity and resilience combated the challenger’s overbearing power. Dunne looked to be closing in on victory when he delivered a Bitter End, but Walter responded with a miraculous kickout. After savagely exchanging blows, the two once again found each other at the top of the turnbuckle, where WALTER drove Dunne across the ring with a larger-than-life powerbomb that could have shaken the Barclays pavement to its core.

The deciding moment came within seconds when WALTER wasted no time and returned to the turnbuckle, where he flattened Dunne with a mega-sized body splash to claim the WWE United Kingdom Title.

It was far from easy, but as the dust cleared on this epic collision, there stood the newest king to the NXT UK throne and the most destructive force to spar with Dunne. 

 

NXT Women's Champion Shayna Baszler def. Bianca Belair, Io Shirai and Kairi Sane (Fatal 4-Way Match)

Kairi Sane and Io Shirai team up for a hard-hitting aerial assault: NXT TakeOver: New York (WWE Network Exclusive)

Kairi Sane and Io Shirai join forces against Bianca Belair and Shayna Baszler in a wild Fatal 4-Way Match for Baszler's NXT Women's Title: Courtesy of WWE Network.

Shayna Baszler may not have been too happy after receiving the news that the odds would be stacked against her in Fatal 4-Way competition, as she didn’t need to be pinned to lose her prized NXT Women’s Title, but as she’s shown over the last two TakeOvers, adversity is the champion’s energy drink. Previous battles against Kairi Sane at TakeOver: WarGames II, Bianca Belair at TakeOver: Phoenix, and a brush with Io Shirai in Six-Woman Tag Team action on the Feb. 6 installment of NXT prepared The Queen of Spades to survive the madness.

At the start of this frenetic brawl, all four competitors laid into each other with unbridled fury. Almost immediately, Baszler squared up with Shirai, while Belair slugged it out with Sane. After tossing out their rivals, Baszler and Belair soon went at it, picking up where their previous one-on-one battle left off. But like New York traffic, things soon got out of hand. At one point, there was a double powerbomb superplex by all four competitors from the top of the turnbuckle, and then there was a Gorilla Press Slam from Belair that tossed Shirai over Sane and Baszler. Then there was tandem offense by Shirai and Sane, which included an alley-oop In-Sane Elbow that launched The Pirate Princess over the top rope to the outside onto Belair and Baszler, the latter of whom was folded with a dazzling moonsault by The Genius of the Sky.

After a frantic back-and-forth that even saw Shirai and Sane put their friendship to the backburner, Belair delivered the must-see moment of the night when she used her overwhelming strength to elevate both Sky Pirates over her shoulders and land a K.O.D. Though The EST looked seconds away from a victory, The Queen of Spades once again silenced the noise by vacuumed Belair into a Kirifuda Clutch. Belair did everything she could to escape the deadly maneuver, thrashing on the canvas frantically clawing at the titleholder’s face, but The EST of NXT eventually had no choice but to submit, allowing The Queen of Spades to retain her title with a gritty victory.

 

Johnny Gargano def. Adam Cole in 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to win the NXT Championship

And your new NXT Champion is…

The journeys of Johnny Gargano and Adam Cole, although different in their routes, reached a parallel when they intersected at the Barclays Center. As both trails are steeped in blood, sweat and tears, so is their ambition of capturing the top prize in NXT. Where Cole aspired to make his NXT Title desire reach a full circle inside Barclays, the same location of his statement-making debut at TakeOver: Brooklyn III, Gargano simply wanted it more. Like a Billy Joel concert at The Garden, a standing ovation filled the arena as Gargano defeated Cole to become the newest NXT Champion.

A tour de force was bestowed on the NXT Universe, as Gargano and Cole put it all on the line in one of the most emotionally-stirring NXT Championship Matches of all time. The setting was electric, as chants of “Adam Cole (BAY BAY!)” and “Johnny Wrestling” bellowed across the arena. To kick off the bout, the expert competitors delivered a textbook display of fundamental mat-game wrestling, constantly trading holds and reversals. At one point, Gargano almost locked in a Gargano Escape before Cole reached for the rope. Later, Cole locked in his own set of submission maneuvers, switching from a headlock to a dragon sleeper. As the offense tradeoff continued, Cole soon found himself on the receiving end of a slingshot spear that nearly caught the first pinfall. Seemingly using that as fuel, The Panama City Playboy eventually scored the first pinfall after knocking Gargano down with the Last Shot.

The pin-count put a battery into Johnny Wrestling, as he connected with a flurry of strikes before spearing Cole out of the ring. Johnny pulled out all stops, borrowing a page from his former #DIY tag team partner, Tommaso Ciampa, by driving Cole on his back with an Air Raid Crash from the top of the turnbuckle. Bringing the fight, Gargano then followed up with a Slingshot DDT on the unforgiving ring apron. As the two traded submission holds in the middle of the ring, Gargano clasped onto his opponent with a Gargano Escape that forced Cole to tap out. At that point, the fire of this competitive battle intensified.

Where Cole plugged in an echoing superkick to the back of Gargano, followed by a Straight Jacket German suplex, the resilient Gargano delivered a reverse hurricanrana that forced his opponent to the outside. The fight turned ugly when Cole flung Gargano onto the ring apron with another hard-hitting German suplex. The ever-resilient Gargano remarkably synced in a slingshot DDT that blew the roof off Barclays Center, but Cole regained the upper hand by launching himself off the second rope to drop his opponent with a Canadian Destroyer.

The Big Apple showdown then spilled outside with Cole going as far as insulting Gargano by stealing a page from Ciampa’s textbook, dropping him with a Fairytale Ending on the announcer’s table. Surviving a count-out, Johnny Wrestling hopped back in the ring and was met with a Meeting in the Middle. Once Gargano kicked out, Cole followed up with even more intensity. He carried out another Last Shot that saw another pin attempt foiled by a kickout. Unloading his cache of offense, Cole later attempted an aerial attack that was countered by a Gargano Escape.

Undisputed ERA joined the fray to provide their comrade with strength in numbers. Despite Bobby Fish and Kyle O’Reilly sneaking in a High & Low on Gargano as the referee was down, the black-and-gold brand’s superhero rose above the odds. After leveling Roderick Strong, O’Reilly and Fish with a flurry of attacks, Gargano hopped back into the ring where he encountered another swift Last Shot that resulted in another mindboggling kickout. Gargano then countered another rushing attack from Cole to fasten a Gargano Escape, and after several tense seconds, Cole frantically tapped out to give Gargano his first-ever NXT Championship win.  

The emotional victory left many with tears of joy, including Ciampa, who emerged at the stage to stand alongside the new champion and Candice LeRae and surprise his former foe with a hug that further emphasized the heartwarming nature of Gargano’s win. This latest chapter pins 2019 as Gargano’s year of “wins and championships.” So long to that bucket list.