Light Heavyweight Championship


The now-defunct WWE Light Heavyweight Championship has one of the shortest histories in WWE. It got its start in late 1997 when a tournament was held to crown the first-ever Light Heavyweight Champion. In the end, it was Taka Michinoku defeating Brian Christopher for the title. Over the next three years, the Light Heavyweight Championship changed hands 13 times, totaling 11 different champions, including Christian, Jeff Hardy and X-Pac. The title was abandoned in 2001 when WWE finally put the WCW/ECW Alliance out of business. WWE then adopted the WCW Cruiserweight Championship as its version of the Cruiserweight Championship.

Taka MichinokuBrian ChristopherSpringfield, MA12-07-97
ChristianTaka MichinokuRosemont, IL10-18-98
GillbergChristianColumbus, OH11-19-98
Essa RiosGillbergAustin, TX02-10-00
Dean MalenkoEssa RiosEast Rutherford, NJ03-13-00
Scotty 2 HottyDean MalenkoState College, PA04-17-00
Dean MalenkoScotty 2 HottyCharlotte, NC04-27-00
Crash HollyDean MalenkoAnaheim, CA03-15-01
Jerry LynnCrash HollyChicago, IL04-29-01
Jeff HardyJerry LynnGrand Forks, ND06-07-01
X-PacJeff HardyNew York, NY06-25-01
TajiriX-PacAnaheim, CA08-06-01
X-PacTajiriSan Jose, CA08-19-01