The 3 longest combined reigning Intercontinental Champions in WWE history

The Miz

The WWE Intercontinental Championship is one of the most revered titles in all of sports-entertainment. Many of the Superstars who have held it have gone onto become WWE Champions and Hall of Famers.

The Miz has held the championship seven times and has taken to social media in recent weeks to let the WWE Universe know just how groundbreaking his latest reign with the historic title is becoming with each passing day. When you tally up the time of all seven reigns, The Awesome One has held the title longer than all but two Superstars in WWE history. Find out what The A-Lister has to do to climb higher on the list.

3. The Miz (7 reigns, 458 days and counting)

The Miz

The Miz

The Miz was never supposed to be a champion, yet alone one of the best in WWE history.

In five years — from 2012 to 2017 — Miz silenced his doubters and captured the Intercontinental Championship seven times, with the goal each time to ensure the title carries the prestige of great champions of the past.

He first captured the title on Raw 1000, defeating Christian. He followed up with victories over Wade Barrett, a slew of top Superstars in a Battle Royal, Dolph Ziggler, Zack Ryder, Ziggler a second time, and Dean Ambrose to earn the second-most Intercontinental Title reigns in the championship’s 38-year history.

With more than 455 days and counting, Miz is climbing the list, and he’s showing no signs of stopping until he’s at the very top. — JEFF LABOON

2. Don Muraco (2 reigns, 541 days)

Don Muraco

Though he was one of the most disliked competitors of his era, Don Muraco was nonetheless one of the Superstars that helped establish the Intercontinental Championship as one of sports-entertainment’s premier titles.

The fourth Superstar to hold the title, The Magnificent Muraco battled the likes of Pedro Morales and Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka during his 541 days as champion. In fact, the infamous Steel Cage Match where Snuka leapt off the top of the structure onto Muraco, inspiring a young Mick Foley, was for Muraco’s Intercontinental Title. Lost in the spectacle of the incredible dive is the fact that Muraco won the match to retain the title. — BOBBY MELOK

1. Pedro Morales (2 reigns, 619 days)

Pedro Morales

When the Intercontinental Championship was first introduced in 1979, Pedro Morales was already one of the most revered competitors in WWE history, having held the WWE Championship for 1,027 days. When he defeated Ken Patera for the Intercontinental Championship in December 1980, Morales made history, becoming the first Triple Crown Champion – having held the WWE, Intercontinental and World Tag Team Championships – in WWE history.

Morales continued to make history as Intercontinental Champion. Despite the likes of Muraco, Sgt. Slaughter, Greg Valentine and countless others coming after him, Morales held on to the title. Though Muraco dethroned him in June 1981, Morales rebounded later in the year to become the first two-time Intercontinental Champion and went on to have a 14-month reign that brought his total time with the title to an astounding 619 days. — BOBBY MELOK

WWE Shows Latest Results

View all Shows