Undertaker kehrt zurück, um Brock Lesnar zu konfrontieren: WWE Battleground 2015

Der Undertaker taucht plötzlich während Brock Lesnars Match mit Seth Rollins im Ring auf.

ST. LOUIS —  Jeder wusste, dass Seth Rollins ein Geschenk Gottes brauchte, um sein Match gegen Brock Lesnar als WWE World Heavyweight Champion zu verlassen. Was dann bei WWE Battleground passierte kam sehr nahe.

In den letzten Momenten eines entsetzlichen, körperlichen Matchs, gerade als Lesnar einen geschundenen und geschlagenen Rollins nach einem F-5 coverte, gingen die Lichter im Scotttrade Center aus, der Gong ertönte und der Undertaker machte seine Rückkehr zu WWE.

Seht Euch Fotos von der überraschenden Rückkehr des Undertakers an!

Der Champion und der Offizielle waren im Schutz der Dunkelheit aus dem Ring geflüchtet, somit waren nur noch das Phänomen und jener Mann im Ring, der seine legendäre WrestleMania Streak gebrochen hatte. Die beiden Titanen betrachteten sich von gegenüberliegenden Seiten des Rings. Brock war der Schock in den Augen abzulesen, auch Überraschung und vielleicht ein wenig Furcht. Die Augen des Undertakers aber brannten vor Zorn. Er hatte diesen Moment seit der Nacht vom 6. April geplant. Das war ziemlich klar.

Einige der epischsten Returns des Undertakers

Und dann gerieten die beiden mit einer Wucht zweier Löwen aufeinander, die gerade um frisches Fleisch kämpften. Undertaker versuchte den Chokeslam, dem Brock auswich und in einen F5 umkehrte. Der Totengräber entglitt aber Lesnars Pranken und trat ihm genau zwischen die Beine. Es war ein faules Spiel, aber es ließ die Bestie sich auf dem Boden winden und gab dem Phänomen eine Chance einen gewaltigen Chokeslam auszupacken und dann einen vernichtenden Tombstone gegen die 1 in 22:1. Doch ein weiterer Tombstone folgte wenig später.

Die vernichtendsten Tombstones des Undertakers

Der Undertaker sank auf ein knie nieder und machte seine Signature-Pose inmitten des Rings, während die Lichter in ein fürchterliches blau übergingen und seine eindringliche Musik durch die Arena schallte. Es war ein aufregender Moment, dochj als er sich aus dem Ring begab – und die Veranstaltung zu Ende ging, was das Titelmatch offenbar ohne Wertung enden ließ – konnte man sich aufgrund des wahnsinnigen Gesichtsausdruck des Undertakers nur hilflos fühlen. Paul Heyman mag seine Bestie als den „God of Violent Retribution“ angepriesen haben, doch an diesem Abend passte dieser Name besser auf den Undertaker.

Brock Lesnar vs. WWE World Heavyweight Champion Seth Rollins endete ohne Wertung

Zwanzig Minuten zuvor erschien Brock unbesiegbar. Natürlich, falls Rollins eingeschüchtert gewesen wäre, hätte er es nicht gezeigt. Der Champion besitzt ein Selbstbewusstsein, das Kayne West irritieren könnte und zeigte das indem er  „Ich bin die Zukunft!“ bellte,  als Lesnar sich zum Ring begab. Als das Geplänkel zu Ende war, ging die Bestrafung sofort los. Brock drängte Rollins in die Ecke und begann seine Schulter in Rollins Rippen zu stoßen. Das Publikum jubelte lautstark. Lesnar hat Menschen zerkleinert, die er nicht einmal kannte, nur um seinen Standpunkt klarzumachen. Was würde er einen Typen antun, der ihn förmlich herausgefordert hat?

Seths Überlebensstrategie war einfach: bleib in Bewegung und attackiere Brocks Knie, wenn sich die Gelegenheit anbietet. Lesnars Strategie war sogar noch einfacher: zerstöre. Die Bestie kontrollierte das Tempo im Match. Sein erster German Suplex folgte nach kaum einer Minute – ein Wurf, so mächtig, dass Rollins geradezu von der Matte abfederte und mit dem Gesicht nach unten landete. Ein zweiter folgte unmittelbar. Und dann ein weiterer und ein weiterer. Zu dieser Zeit hatte Lesnar den fünften Suplex in Folge ausgeteilt, man wusste, dass es für Seth Rollins ein langer Abend werden würde.

Videos: Brock zerstört Ikonen des Sports-Entertainments

Es gab für den Champion kein Entkommen. Als ein geschundener Rollins versuchte mit dem Titel aus der Arena zu rennen, stürzte Brock aus dem Ring und sprang in einer wahnsinnigen Bewegung über die Absperrung. Innerhalb von Sekunden war der Architekt in den Fängen der Bestie und wurde zurück in den Ring geworfen.

Clips von fünf wirklich gefährlichen Suplexes

Das Suplexen ging weiter. Rollins hatte keine Chance. Doch als Brock einen siebten austeilen wollte, benutzte Rollins seine wahnsinnige Agilität, um auf seinen Füßen zu landen. Der Architekt ergriff seine größte Chance im Match und verpasste seinem gewaltigen Gegner Kick um Kick. Der Opportunist versuchte einen Pedigree, wurde aber in einen F5 genommen. Rollins entkam aber dem Move und machte mit seiner wilden Attacke gegen die Bestie weiter. Zwei Dives brachten Brock nach draußen, doch als er einen dritten angehen wollte, schlitterte Lesnar zurück in den Ring und schaltete Seth mit einem Belly-to-Belly Suplex aus. Dann war es an der Zeit für vier weitere German Suplexes, die kaum ein Mensch aushalten würde.

Brock Lesnar leaves WWE Battleground 2015 after The Undertaker's attack: WWE.com Exclusive, July 19, 2015

After a brutal surprise assault by The Undertaker, The Beast Incarnate walks out of the Scottrade Center.

Das ganze Gerede über Suplex City war nicht nur cleveres Marketing. Lesnar gab seinem Gegner eine persönliche Tour durch die gefährlichste Stadt Amerikas.

Der Champion war fix und fertig und Lesnar, mit vielleicht einer Spur Sympathie, half ihm hoch und schaltete ihn mit einem F5 aus. Es gab für Rollins keine Chance aus dem Cover zu entkommen, doch er musste es auch nicht. Der Undertaker tauchte wie eine Art wahnsinniger Rächer auf, ein hin und hergerissener Held, versessen auf Vergeltung. Es ist schon mehr als ein Jahr her, als Lesnar den Totengräber bei WrestleMania geschlagen hatte und seine legendäre 21:00 Siegerserie  in einem einzigen Schockmoment der WWE Geschichte reißen ließ. 

Geniale Fotoraritäten des Undertakers

Das Phänomen war seitdem nur einmal erschienen, als er auf die Größte Bühne von Allen zurückgekehrt war, um Bray Wyatt zu stürzen.  Also wieso jetzt? Wieso hat der Undertaker die letzten Minuten in Brocks WWE World Heavyweight Championtitel Match bei Battleground gewählt, um die Bestie ins Visier zu nehmen? Hatte er sich seit April 2014 darauf vorbereitet und sich jetzt körperlich und mental bereit gefühlt? Hat das ganze biblische Gerede von Paul Heyman dazu geführt? Oder hat ihn vielleicht sogar der COO Triple H persönlich überzeugt?

Diese Fragen werden hoffentlich schon bald beantwortet werden, doch eines ist schon jetzt gewiss: Die Toten sind auferstanden.

WWE Battleground
WWE Battleground
Get WWE Network

Mitwirkende Superstars

WWE Battleground
WWE Battleground
Get WWE Network

Mitwirkende Superstars

Undertaker kehrt zurück, um Brock Lesnar zu konfrontieren: WWE Battleground 2015

Der Undertaker taucht plötzlich während Brock Lesnars Match mit Seth Rollins im Ring auf.

ST. LOUIS —  Jeder wusste, dass Seth Rollins ein Geschenk Gottes brauchte, um sein Match gegen Brock Lesnar als WWE World Heavyweight Champion zu verlassen. Was dann bei WWE Battleground passierte kam sehr nahe.

In den letzten Momenten eines entsetzlichen, körperlichen Matchs, gerade als Lesnar einen geschundenen und geschlagenen Rollins nach einem F-5 coverte, gingen die Lichter im Scotttrade Center aus, der Gong ertönte und der Undertaker machte seine Rückkehr zu WWE.

Seht Euch Fotos von der überraschenden Rückkehr des Undertakers an!

Der Champion und der Offizielle waren im Schutz der Dunkelheit aus dem Ring geflüchtet, somit waren nur noch das Phänomen und jener Mann im Ring, der seine legendäre WrestleMania Streak gebrochen hatte. Die beiden Titanen betrachteten sich von gegenüberliegenden Seiten des Rings. Brock war der Schock in den Augen abzulesen, auch Überraschung und vielleicht ein wenig Furcht. Die Augen des Undertakers aber brannten vor Zorn. Er hatte diesen Moment seit der Nacht vom 6. April geplant. Das war ziemlich klar.

Einige der epischsten Returns des Undertakers

Und dann gerieten die beiden mit einer Wucht zweier Löwen aufeinander, die gerade um frisches Fleisch kämpften. Undertaker versuchte den Chokeslam, dem Brock auswich und in einen F5 umkehrte. Der Totengräber entglitt aber Lesnars Pranken und trat ihm genau zwischen die Beine. Es war ein faules Spiel, aber es ließ die Bestie sich auf dem Boden winden und gab dem Phänomen eine Chance einen gewaltigen Chokeslam auszupacken und dann einen vernichtenden Tombstone gegen die 1 in 22:1. Doch ein weiterer Tombstone folgte wenig später.

Die vernichtendsten Tombstones des Undertakers

Der Undertaker sank auf ein knie nieder und machte seine Signature-Pose inmitten des Rings, während die Lichter in ein fürchterliches blau übergingen und seine eindringliche Musik durch die Arena schallte. Es war ein aufregender Moment, dochj als er sich aus dem Ring begab – und die Veranstaltung zu Ende ging, was das Titelmatch offenbar ohne Wertung enden ließ – konnte man sich aufgrund des wahnsinnigen Gesichtsausdruck des Undertakers nur hilflos fühlen. Paul Heyman mag seine Bestie als den „God of Violent Retribution“ angepriesen haben, doch an diesem Abend passte dieser Name besser auf den Undertaker.

Brock Lesnar vs. WWE World Heavyweight Champion Seth Rollins endete ohne Wertung

Zwanzig Minuten zuvor erschien Brock unbesiegbar. Natürlich, falls Rollins eingeschüchtert gewesen wäre, hätte er es nicht gezeigt. Der Champion besitzt ein Selbstbewusstsein, das Kayne West irritieren könnte und zeigte das indem er  „Ich bin die Zukunft!“ bellte,  als Lesnar sich zum Ring begab. Als das Geplänkel zu Ende war, ging die Bestrafung sofort los. Brock drängte Rollins in die Ecke und begann seine Schulter in Rollins Rippen zu stoßen. Das Publikum jubelte lautstark. Lesnar hat Menschen zerkleinert, die er nicht einmal kannte, nur um seinen Standpunkt klarzumachen. Was würde er einen Typen antun, der ihn förmlich herausgefordert hat?

Seths Überlebensstrategie war einfach: bleib in Bewegung und attackiere Brocks Knie, wenn sich die Gelegenheit anbietet. Lesnars Strategie war sogar noch einfacher: zerstöre. Die Bestie kontrollierte das Tempo im Match. Sein erster German Suplex folgte nach kaum einer Minute – ein Wurf, so mächtig, dass Rollins geradezu von der Matte abfederte und mit dem Gesicht nach unten landete. Ein zweiter folgte unmittelbar. Und dann ein weiterer und ein weiterer. Zu dieser Zeit hatte Lesnar den fünften Suplex in Folge ausgeteilt, man wusste, dass es für Seth Rollins ein langer Abend werden würde.

Videos: Brock zerstört Ikonen des Sports-Entertainments

Es gab für den Champion kein Entkommen. Als ein geschundener Rollins versuchte mit dem Titel aus der Arena zu rennen, stürzte Brock aus dem Ring und sprang in einer wahnsinnigen Bewegung über die Absperrung. Innerhalb von Sekunden war der Architekt in den Fängen der Bestie und wurde zurück in den Ring geworfen.

Clips von fünf wirklich gefährlichen Suplexes

Das Suplexen ging weiter. Rollins hatte keine Chance. Doch als Brock einen siebten austeilen wollte, benutzte Rollins seine wahnsinnige Agilität, um auf seinen Füßen zu landen. Der Architekt ergriff seine größte Chance im Match und verpasste seinem gewaltigen Gegner Kick um Kick. Der Opportunist versuchte einen Pedigree, wurde aber in einen F5 genommen. Rollins entkam aber dem Move und machte mit seiner wilden Attacke gegen die Bestie weiter. Zwei Dives brachten Brock nach draußen, doch als er einen dritten angehen wollte, schlitterte Lesnar zurück in den Ring und schaltete Seth mit einem Belly-to-Belly Suplex aus. Dann war es an der Zeit für vier weitere German Suplexes, die kaum ein Mensch aushalten würde.

Brock Lesnar leaves WWE Battleground 2015 after The Undertaker's attack: WWE.com Exclusive, July 19, 2015

After a brutal surprise assault by The Undertaker, The Beast Incarnate walks out of the Scottrade Center.

Das ganze Gerede über Suplex City war nicht nur cleveres Marketing. Lesnar gab seinem Gegner eine persönliche Tour durch die gefährlichste Stadt Amerikas.

Der Champion war fix und fertig und Lesnar, mit vielleicht einer Spur Sympathie, half ihm hoch und schaltete ihn mit einem F5 aus. Es gab für Rollins keine Chance aus dem Cover zu entkommen, doch er musste es auch nicht. Der Undertaker tauchte wie eine Art wahnsinniger Rächer auf, ein hin und hergerissener Held, versessen auf Vergeltung. Es ist schon mehr als ein Jahr her, als Lesnar den Totengräber bei WrestleMania geschlagen hatte und seine legendäre 21:00 Siegerserie  in einem einzigen Schockmoment der WWE Geschichte reißen ließ. 

Geniale Fotoraritäten des Undertakers

Das Phänomen war seitdem nur einmal erschienen, als er auf die Größte Bühne von Allen zurückgekehrt war, um Bray Wyatt zu stürzen.  Also wieso jetzt? Wieso hat der Undertaker die letzten Minuten in Brocks WWE World Heavyweight Championtitel Match bei Battleground gewählt, um die Bestie ins Visier zu nehmen? Hatte er sich seit April 2014 darauf vorbereitet und sich jetzt körperlich und mental bereit gefühlt? Hat das ganze biblische Gerede von Paul Heyman dazu geführt? Oder hat ihn vielleicht sogar der COO Triple H persönlich überzeugt?

Diese Fragen werden hoffentlich schon bald beantwortet werden, doch eines ist schon jetzt gewiss: Die Toten sind auferstanden.

WWE Network: The Undertaker returns to confront Brock Lesnar: WWE Battleground 2015

The Undertaker suddenly appears in the ring during Brock Lesnar's match with Seth Rollins: Courtesy of the award-winning WWE Network.

ST. LOUIS — Everyone knew it was going to take an act of God for Seth Rollins to walk away from his WWE World Heavyweight Championship defense against Brock Lesnar with the title still around his waist. What happened at WWE Battleground was close to it.

In the closing moments of a harrowing, physical contest, just as Lesnar was covering a battered and beaten Rollins following an F5, the lights in the Scottrade Center cut to black, the bell tolled and The Undertaker made his return to WWE.

See photos of The Undertaker's shocking return!

The champion and the official had escaped the ring under cover of darkness, leaving only The Phenom and the man who broke his legendary WrestleMania Streak. The two titans considered one another from opposite sides of the squared circle. Brock’s eyes displayed shock, surprise, perhaps even a bit of fear. The Deadman’s eyes burned with fury. He’d been planning this moment since the night of April 6, 2014. That much was clear.

Watch some of The Deadman's most epic returns to WWE

And then they went at it with the unbridled rage of two lions fighting over a fresh carcass. Undertaker tried for the chokeslam, which Brock avoided and turned into an F5. The Deadman slipped away from Lesnar’s paws, though, and, shockingly, kicked him right between the legs. It was foul play, but it crumbled The Beast and gave The Phenom a chance to hit a massive chokeslam and then a devastating Tombstone to the 1 in 22-1. Yet another spine jarring Tombstone followed moments later.

Watch The Undertaker's most devastating Tombstones

The Undertaker dropped to a knee and struck his signature pose in the center of the ring as lighting crashed and his haunting theme echoed throughout the arena. It was a thrilling moment, but as he made his way out of the ring — and the event went off the air, signaling a No Contest ending to the title match — you couldn’t help but feel a bit disarmed by the frenzied look in The Undertaker’s face. Paul Heyman may have christened his Beast the “God of Violent Retribution,” but on this night that name was more befitting of The Undertaker.

WWE Network: Brock Lesnar welcomes Seth Rollins to Suplex City: WWE Battleground 2015

Brock Lesnar is relentless against WWE World Heavyweight Champion Seth Rollins: Courtesy of the award-winning WWE Network.

Twenty minutes earlier, Brock had appeared invincible. Of course, if Rollins was intimidated, he didn’t show it. The champion possesses a level of self-confidence that could irritate Kanye West and he displayed it by barking, “I’m the future!” as Lesnar made his way down the aisle. When ring introductions were out of the way, the punishment was immediate. Brock backed the champion into the corner and began slamming his shoulder into Rollins’ ribcage, turning bone to powder with every thrust. The crowd buzzed with anticipation. Lesnar has dismembered people he doesn’t even know just to make a point.  What would he do to a guy that literally called him out?

Seth’s survival strategy was simple: stay on the run and attack Brock’s knees when the opportunity presented itself. Lesnar’s strategy was even simpler: destroy. The Beast controlled the pace for the bulk of the contest. His first German suplex connected barely a minute into the match — a throw so powerful that Rollins actually bounced up off the mat and landed face down. A second one immediately followed. And then another and another. By the time Lesnar delivered the fifth straight suplex, you knew it was going to be a long night at the office for Seth Rollins.

Watch videos of Brock destroying sports-entertainment icons

There was no escape for the champion. When a battered Rollins attempted to run out of the arena with his title, Brock bolted out of the ring and hurdled over the barricade in one insane motion. Within seconds, The Architect was in The Beast’s grasp and thrown back into the ring.

See clips of five seriously dangerous suplexes

The suplexing continued. Rollins folded like a bad poker hand on the sixth toss. But when Brock went for a seventh, Rollins used his insane agility to land on his feet. The Architect grabbed his biggest advantage of the bout at this point, throwing kick after kick at his massive challenger. The opportunist went for a Pedigree, only to be snapped up into an F5. Rollins avoided the move, however, and continued his frenzied attack on The Beast. Two straight dives wobbled Brock on the outside, but when he went for a third, Lesnar slid back in the ring and dispatched Seth with a belly to belly suplex. Then it was four more German suplexes that would have made Karl Gotch cringe.

Brock Lesnar leaves WWE Battleground 2015 after The Undertaker's attack: WWE.com Exclusive, July 19, 2015

After a brutal surprise assault by The Undertaker, The Beast Incarnate walks out of the Scottrade Center.

All that talk about Suplex City leading up to WWE Battleground wasn’t just clever marketing. Lesnar gave his opponent a personally guided tour of America’s most dangerous borough, continually using Rollins’ skull to leave gaping potholes up and down Main Street.

Check out photos of Brock taking opponents to Suplex City

The champion was road kill at that point and Lesnar, with perhaps a shred of sympathy, powered him up and took him out with an F5. There was no way Rollins was kicking out, but then he didn’t have to. The Undertaker arrived like some mad avenger, a conflicted hero hell bent on retribution. It had been more than a year since Lesnar beat The Deadman at WrestleMania,  snapping The Undertaker’s legendary 21-0 winning Streak in the single most shocking moment in WWE history.

See awesome rare photos of The Undertaker

The Deadman had only appeared once since then, returning to The Grandest Stage of Them All to topple Bray Wyatt. So why now? Why did The Undertaker chose the closing moments of Brock’s WWE World Heavyweight Title Match at Battleground to target The Beast? Had he been preparing to confront Lesnar since April 2014 and only now felt physically and mentally ready? Did all of that biblical speak from Paul Heyman trigger something in The Phenom? Hell, had Chief Operating Officer Triple H convinced him to do it?

Watch WrestleMania 30 on WWE Network

Those questions will hopefully be answered soon, but, for now, one thing is for certain: The dead have risen.

WWE Battleground
WWE Battleground
Get WWE Network

Featured Superstars

WWE Battleground
WWE Battleground
Get WWE Network

Featured Superstars

WWE Network: The Undertaker returns to confront Brock Lesnar: WWE Battleground 2015

The Undertaker suddenly appears in the ring during Brock Lesnar's match with Seth Rollins: Courtesy of the award-winning WWE Network.

ST. LOUIS — Everyone knew it was going to take an act of God for Seth Rollins to walk away from his WWE World Heavyweight Championship defense against Brock Lesnar with the title still around his waist. What happened at WWE Battleground was close to it.

In the closing moments of a harrowing, physical contest, just as Lesnar was covering a battered and beaten Rollins following an F5, the lights in the Scottrade Center cut to black, the bell tolled and The Undertaker made his return to WWE.

See photos of The Undertaker's shocking return!

The champion and the official had escaped the ring under cover of darkness, leaving only The Phenom and the man who broke his legendary WrestleMania Streak. The two titans considered one another from opposite sides of the squared circle. Brock’s eyes displayed shock, surprise, perhaps even a bit of fear. The Deadman’s eyes burned with fury. He’d been planning this moment since the night of April 6, 2014. That much was clear.

Watch some of The Deadman's most epic returns to WWE

And then they went at it with the unbridled rage of two lions fighting over a fresh carcass. Undertaker tried for the chokeslam, which Brock avoided and turned into an F5. The Deadman slipped away from Lesnar’s paws, though, and, shockingly, kicked him right between the legs. It was foul play, but it crumbled The Beast and gave The Phenom a chance to hit a massive chokeslam and then a devastating Tombstone to the 1 in 22-1. Yet another spine jarring Tombstone followed moments later.

Watch The Undertaker's most devastating Tombstones

The Undertaker dropped to a knee and struck his signature pose in the center of the ring as lighting crashed and his haunting theme echoed throughout the arena. It was a thrilling moment, but as he made his way out of the ring — and the event went off the air, signaling a No Contest ending to the title match — you couldn’t help but feel a bit disarmed by the frenzied look in The Undertaker’s face. Paul Heyman may have christened his Beast the “God of Violent Retribution,” but on this night that name was more befitting of The Undertaker.

WWE Network: Brock Lesnar welcomes Seth Rollins to Suplex City: WWE Battleground 2015

Brock Lesnar is relentless against WWE World Heavyweight Champion Seth Rollins: Courtesy of the award-winning WWE Network.

Twenty minutes earlier, Brock had appeared invincible. Of course, if Rollins was intimidated, he didn’t show it. The champion possesses a level of self-confidence that could irritate Kanye West and he displayed it by barking, “I’m the future!” as Lesnar made his way down the aisle. When ring introductions were out of the way, the punishment was immediate. Brock backed the champion into the corner and began slamming his shoulder into Rollins’ ribcage, turning bone to powder with every thrust. The crowd buzzed with anticipation. Lesnar has dismembered people he doesn’t even know just to make a point.  What would he do to a guy that literally called him out?

Seth’s survival strategy was simple: stay on the run and attack Brock’s knees when the opportunity presented itself. Lesnar’s strategy was even simpler: destroy. The Beast controlled the pace for the bulk of the contest. His first German suplex connected barely a minute into the match — a throw so powerful that Rollins actually bounced up off the mat and landed face down. A second one immediately followed. And then another and another. By the time Lesnar delivered the fifth straight suplex, you knew it was going to be a long night at the office for Seth Rollins.

Watch videos of Brock destroying sports-entertainment icons

There was no escape for the champion. When a battered Rollins attempted to run out of the arena with his title, Brock bolted out of the ring and hurdled over the barricade in one insane motion. Within seconds, The Architect was in The Beast’s grasp and thrown back into the ring.

See clips of five seriously dangerous suplexes

The suplexing continued. Rollins folded like a bad poker hand on the sixth toss. But when Brock went for a seventh, Rollins used his insane agility to land on his feet. The Architect grabbed his biggest advantage of the bout at this point, throwing kick after kick at his massive challenger. The opportunist went for a Pedigree, only to be snapped up into an F5. Rollins avoided the move, however, and continued his frenzied attack on The Beast. Two straight dives wobbled Brock on the outside, but when he went for a third, Lesnar slid back in the ring and dispatched Seth with a belly to belly suplex. Then it was four more German suplexes that would have made Karl Gotch cringe.

Brock Lesnar leaves WWE Battleground 2015 after The Undertaker's attack: WWE.com Exclusive, July 19, 2015

After a brutal surprise assault by The Undertaker, The Beast Incarnate walks out of the Scottrade Center.

All that talk about Suplex City leading up to WWE Battleground wasn’t just clever marketing. Lesnar gave his opponent a personally guided tour of America’s most dangerous borough, continually using Rollins’ skull to leave gaping potholes up and down Main Street.

Check out photos of Brock taking opponents to Suplex City

The champion was road kill at that point and Lesnar, with perhaps a shred of sympathy, powered him up and took him out with an F5. There was no way Rollins was kicking out, but then he didn’t have to. The Undertaker arrived like some mad avenger, a conflicted hero hell bent on retribution. It had been more than a year since Lesnar beat The Deadman at WrestleMania,  snapping The Undertaker’s legendary 21-0 winning Streak in the single most shocking moment in WWE history.

See awesome rare photos of The Undertaker

The Deadman had only appeared once since then, returning to The Grandest Stage of Them All to topple Bray Wyatt. So why now? Why did The Undertaker chose the closing moments of Brock’s WWE World Heavyweight Title Match at Battleground to target The Beast? Had he been preparing to confront Lesnar since April 2014 and only now felt physically and mentally ready? Did all of that biblical speak from Paul Heyman trigger something in The Phenom? Hell, had Chief Operating Officer Triple H convinced him to do it?

Watch WrestleMania 30 on WWE Network

Those questions will hopefully be answered soon, but, for now, one thing is for certain: The dead have risen.