All-new WWE Women’s Championship introduced at WrestleMania

All-new WWE Women’s Championship introduced at WrestleMania

DALLAS — Lita introduced the all-new WWE Women’s Championship at WrestleMania, and revealed that Charlotte, Sasha Banks and Becky Lynch will compete for this title tonight.  

UPDATE: Find out who became the first Superstar to hold the WWE Women's Title

With the announcement comes a rich history of female competitors who have made their mark on the sports-entertainment industry. 

The lineage of female champions dates back to September 1965, when legendary WWE Hall of Famer The Fabulous Moolah began an astounding 28-year run with the title. Her successor, fellow WWE Hall of Famer Wendi Richter, defended the championship at the inaugural WrestleMania with pop star Cyndi Lauper in her corner in an event that melded the worlds of rock ‘n’ roll and sports-entertainment. Legendary women like Trish Stratus, Alundra Blayze, Lita and Jacqueline followed in those footsteps, proudly carrying the title en route to WWE Hall of Fame enshrinement themselves.

A new WWE Women's Title is revealed: WrestleMania 32 Kickoff

WWE Hall of Famer Lita reveals an all-new WWE Women's Championship that will be on the line in a Triple Threat Match between Becky Lynch, Sasha Banks and Charlotte at WrestleMania 32.

The championship has now undergone an incredible evolution.  Modeled after the WWE World Heavyweight Championship, the WWE Women’s Title contains 283 stones positioned on a striking, white leather strap and a sleek, metallic recreation of WWE’s logo, which was constructed with assistance from Orange County Choppers of “American Chopper” fame.

Simply put, it is the perfect prize for exceptional athletes and role models, who are admired and idolized around the world. 

To add to that amazing announcement, Lita also revealed that WWE female athletes will now be known as "Superstars" — a status deserving of their history of extraordinary accomplishments.

WWE Shows Latest Results

View all Shows