NEW ORLEANS — Fraget, so werdet ihr empfangen.

In dem Gebäude, in dem  Undertakers Streak sein Ende fand, stieg The Last Outlaw aus dem Abgrund auf und legte John Cena schnell und brutal zur Ruhe, was dem 16-fachen World Champion genau die Art von Match bescherte, die er sich gewünscht hatte - aber vielleicht nicht die, die Cena erwartet hatte.

Für Cena ging es bei der Begegnung mit Undertaker weniger darum, die WrestleMania-Legende zu besiegen, als vielmehr darum, eine gigantische Bühne zu bereiten, die frei von politischen oder meisterlichen Implikationen war. Er wurde ziemlich persönlich in seinen Versuchen, Undertaker zurückzubringen, aber das anhaltende Schweigen des Phänomens ließ Cena mehr als alles andere enttäuscht zurück. Es schien, dass der Deadman damit zufrieden war, nach der Niederlage gegen Roman Reigns bei der letztjährigen WrestleMania Feierabend zu machen.

Auch Cena hatte sich mit dem Sitz in der ersten Reihe im Publikum abgefunden, den er ursprünglich gewählt hatte, als der Deadman ihm nicht antwortete. Und die Ankunft von Elias - ein gemeiner Schwindel des Raw Superstars - machte Cena so wütend, dass er keine andere Wahl hatte, als ihn im Ring zu verputzen. Und dann hat der Deadman endlich geantwortet.

Das war der Undertaker in perfekter Form, von der gruseligen Theatralik - sein Mantel und sein Hut tauchten im Ring wieder auf, verschwanden dann in einem Blitz, bevor er selbst auftauchte - bis zum epischen Einzug, vor allem bis zu dem, was im Ring geschah. Schnell wurde klar, dass Cena das 12-Runden-Match zwischen den lebenden Legenden, für die er sich einsetzte, nicht bekommen würde.

Um es einfach zu sagen, der Undertaker hat Cena vermöbelt. Fast die ganze Offensive, die der Cenation-Anführer bei dieser WrestleMania bekam, war gegen Elias. Stattdessen wurde er mit Soup Bones, Snake Eyes, Old School und dem Rest von Undertakers Repertoire sofort und unerbittlich konfrontiert. An einem Punkt hatte Cena den Deadman für den Five-Knuckle Shuffle in Position, aber sein Gegner saß aufrecht, als Cena in die Seile lief und fertigte mit einem massiven Chokeslam und schließlich dem Tombstone Piledriver den Cenation-Anführer ab.

Als der Undertaker seinen langen Weg zurück auf die Rampe machte, wurden ein paar Dinge klar: Cena bekam, was er wollte, das WWE-Universum war sicher, dass der ikonische Superstar nicht so leicht verblassen würde und Undertaker bewies, dass er weit mehr war als die Summe seiner  Sieg-Niederlage-Bilanz. Als der Deadman seine Faust zum Himmel hob, war es offensichtlich, dass es nicht nur eine Nacht des wiederhergestellten Ruhmes war, sondern vielleicht der Abschluss einer langen Reise, die dem geschichtsträchtigen Krieger ein gewisses Maß an Frieden gebracht hat.

NEW ORLEANS — Fraget, so werdet ihr empfangen.

In dem Gebäude, in dem  Undertakers Streak sein Ende fand, stieg The Last Outlaw aus dem Abgrund auf und legte John Cena schnell und brutal zur Ruhe, was dem 16-fachen World Champion genau die Art von Match bescherte, die er sich gewünscht hatte - aber vielleicht nicht die, die Cena erwartet hatte.

Für Cena ging es bei der Begegnung mit Undertaker weniger darum, die WrestleMania-Legende zu besiegen, als vielmehr darum, eine gigantische Bühne zu bereiten, die frei von politischen oder meisterlichen Implikationen war. Er wurde ziemlich persönlich in seinen Versuchen, Undertaker zurückzubringen, aber das anhaltende Schweigen des Phänomens ließ Cena mehr als alles andere enttäuscht zurück. Es schien, dass der Deadman damit zufrieden war, nach der Niederlage gegen Roman Reigns bei der letztjährigen WrestleMania Feierabend zu machen.

Auch Cena hatte sich mit dem Sitz in der ersten Reihe im Publikum abgefunden, den er ursprünglich gewählt hatte, als der Deadman ihm nicht antwortete. Und die Ankunft von Elias - ein gemeiner Schwindel des Raw Superstars - machte Cena so wütend, dass er keine andere Wahl hatte, als ihn im Ring zu verputzen. Und dann hat der Deadman endlich geantwortet.

Das war der Undertaker in perfekter Form, von der gruseligen Theatralik - sein Mantel und sein Hut tauchten im Ring wieder auf, verschwanden dann in einem Blitz, bevor er selbst auftauchte - bis zum epischen Einzug, vor allem bis zu dem, was im Ring geschah. Schnell wurde klar, dass Cena das 12-Runden-Match zwischen den lebenden Legenden, für die er sich einsetzte, nicht bekommen würde.

Um es einfach zu sagen, der Undertaker hat Cena vermöbelt. Fast die ganze Offensive, die der Cenation-Anführer bei dieser WrestleMania bekam, war gegen Elias. Stattdessen wurde er mit Soup Bones, Snake Eyes, Old School und dem Rest von Undertakers Repertoire sofort und unerbittlich konfrontiert. An einem Punkt hatte Cena den Deadman für den Five-Knuckle Shuffle in Position, aber sein Gegner saß aufrecht, als Cena in die Seile lief und fertigte mit einem massiven Chokeslam und schließlich dem Tombstone Piledriver den Cenation-Anführer ab.

Als der Undertaker seinen langen Weg zurück auf die Rampe machte, wurden ein paar Dinge klar: Cena bekam, was er wollte, das WWE-Universum war sicher, dass der ikonische Superstar nicht so leicht verblassen würde und Undertaker bewies, dass er weit mehr war als die Summe seiner  Sieg-Niederlage-Bilanz. Als der Deadman seine Faust zum Himmel hob, war es offensichtlich, dass es nicht nur eine Nacht des wiederhergestellten Ruhmes war, sondern vielleicht der Abschluss einer langen Reise, die dem geschichtsträchtigen Krieger ein gewisses Maß an Frieden gebracht hat.

Watch WrestleMania 34 video highlights

Date and location

Sunday, Apr 8 | 7 PMET/4 PMPT


Where to watch

Get the WWE Network
The Undertaker def. John Cena

The Undertaker def. John Cena

NEW ORLEANS — Ask, and ye shall receive.

In the very building where The Undertaker’s Streak met its demise, The Last Outlaw rose from the abyss and laid John Cena to rest in quick and brutal fashion, giving the 16-time World Champion exactly the kind of legacy-affirming match he asked for — though, perhaps, not the one Cena had thought he’d get.

The Undertaker emerges from the darkness to accept John Cena's challenge: WrestleMania 34 (WWE Network Exclusive)

The Phenom makes a shocking return at The Show of Shows to face John Cena one-on-one: Courtesy of the award-winning WWE Network.

For Cena, the opportunity to face Undertaker was less about getting one over on the WrestleMania legend and more about putting on an epic, sui generis showcase that was free of politics or championship implications. He got pretty personal in his attempts to bring Undertaker back, but The Phenom’s continued silence left Cena more disappointed than anything. It seemed that The Deadman was content to call it a day after losing to Roman Reigns at last year’s WrestleMania.

Cena, too, had resigned himself to the front-row seat he had initially chosen to take when The Deadman failed to respond to him. And the arrival of Elias — a great hoodwink by the Raw Superstar — enraged Cena to the point that he had no choice but to punk him in the ring. And then The Deadman finally answered.

This was The Undertaker in perfect form, from the ghoulish theatrics — his duster and hat reappeared in the ring, then vanished in a bolt of lightning before the man himself arrived — to the epic entrance, to, especially, what happened inside the ring. Quickly, it became apparent that Cena was not going to get the 12-round battle between living legends he was advocating for.

To put it simply, The Undertaker absolutely trounced Cena. Nearly all the offense The Cenation Leader got in at this WrestleMania was against Elias. Instead, he was subjected to Soup Bones, Snake Eyes, Old School, and the rest of The Deadman’s repertoire in instantaneous, relentless fashion. At one point, Cena had The Deadman down for the Five-Knuckle Shuffle, but his opponent sat bolt upright as Cena ran the ropes and dropped The Cenation Leader with a massive chokeslam and, finally, the Tombstone Piledriver.

As The Undertaker made his long walk back up the ramp, a few things became clear: Cena got what he asked for, the WWE Universe was reassured that the iconic Superstar would not fade so easily into the black, and Undertaker proved he was far more than the sum of his win-loss record. As The Deadman raised his fist to the heavens, it was apparent that it was not just a night of restored glory, but, perhaps, the conclusion of a long journey that has brought the storied warrior some measure of peace.

NEW ORLEANS — Ask, and ye shall receive.

In the very building where The Undertaker’s Streak met its demise, The Last Outlaw rose from the abyss and laid John Cena to rest in quick and brutal fashion, giving the 16-time World Champion exactly the kind of legacy-affirming match he asked for — though, perhaps, not the one Cena had thought he’d get.

The Undertaker emerges from the darkness to accept John Cena's challenge: WrestleMania 34 (WWE Network Exclusive)

The Phenom makes a shocking return at The Show of Shows to face John Cena one-on-one: Courtesy of the award-winning WWE Network.

For Cena, the opportunity to face Undertaker was less about getting one over on the WrestleMania legend and more about putting on an epic, sui generis showcase that was free of politics or championship implications. He got pretty personal in his attempts to bring Undertaker back, but The Phenom’s continued silence left Cena more disappointed than anything. It seemed that The Deadman was content to call it a day after losing to Roman Reigns at last year’s WrestleMania.

Cena, too, had resigned himself to the front-row seat he had initially chosen to take when The Deadman failed to respond to him. And the arrival of Elias — a great hoodwink by the Raw Superstar — enraged Cena to the point that he had no choice but to punk him in the ring. And then The Deadman finally answered.

This was The Undertaker in perfect form, from the ghoulish theatrics — his duster and hat reappeared in the ring, then vanished in a bolt of lightning before the man himself arrived — to the epic entrance, to, especially, what happened inside the ring. Quickly, it became apparent that Cena was not going to get the 12-round battle between living legends he was advocating for.

To put it simply, The Undertaker absolutely trounced Cena. Nearly all the offense The Cenation Leader got in at this WrestleMania was against Elias. Instead, he was subjected to Soup Bones, Snake Eyes, Old School, and the rest of The Deadman’s repertoire in instantaneous, relentless fashion. At one point, Cena had The Deadman down for the Five-Knuckle Shuffle, but his opponent sat bolt upright as Cena ran the ropes and dropped The Cenation Leader with a massive chokeslam and, finally, the Tombstone Piledriver.

As The Undertaker made his long walk back up the ramp, a few things became clear: Cena got what he asked for, the WWE Universe was reassured that the iconic Superstar would not fade so easily into the black, and Undertaker proved he was far more than the sum of his win-loss record. As The Deadman raised his fist to the heavens, it was apparent that it was not just a night of restored glory, but, perhaps, the conclusion of a long journey that has brought the storied warrior some measure of peace.