Old Glory: The U.S. Championship

Old Glory: The U.S. Championship

January 1, 1975
When the title is introduced in Mid-Atlantic Championship Wrestling (which would later go on to become Jim Crockett Promotions, and then WCW), Harley Race defeats Johnny Weaver in Tallahassee to become the first NWA United States Champion

September 1, 1979
Ric Flair—the then-reigning NWA U.S. Champion—vacates the title after winning the NWA Tag Team Championship. Jimmy Snuka would go on to defeat Ricky Steamboat in a tournament to crown a new official NWA U.S. Champ.

January  24, 1981
By this time, several other promotions have adopted U.S. Championships. But when the final one goes out of business, the original Mid-Atlantic version is christened the undisputed U.S. Championship across the country.

December 26, 1986
As re-elected president of the National Wrestling Alliance, Jim Crockett gains control of the NWA World Heavyweight Title. The U.S. Championship is then maintained as a secondary title.  

November 21, 1988
Ted Turner buys Jim Crockett Promotions, renaming the company World Championship Wrestling. The NWA U.S. Championship remains active, and is still secondary to the World Heavyweight Title.

September 18, 1994
After being awarded the title when his opponent, Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat, is injured and unable to compete, Steve Austin becomes shortest-reigning United States Champion after immediately losing to “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan in 35 seconds at Fall Brawl 1994.

March 23, 2001
WWE purchases WCW, and the United States Championship officially becomes WWE property. At Survivor Series, the United States Championship is deactivated when then-U.S. Champ Edge defeats Intercontinental Champion, Test, to unify both titles.

June 19, 2003
Due to a vocal public outcry, the U.S. Championship is reactivated by  SmackDown GM Stephanie McMahon. Eddie Guerrero becomes the new United States Champion at Vengeance, making him the first United States Champion of the current era.

June 23, 2008
Matt Hardy makes history by being drafted to ECW, and taking the United States title with him, marking the first time the U.S. Championship would exist in the promotion.

August 19, 2012
Relative newcomer Antonio Cesaro defeats Santino Marella at SummerSlam to win his first United States Championship, which he would go on to hold for 239 days—the longest single reign in the past five years.

May 19,2013
Dean Ambrose defeats Kofi Kingston for the title at Extreme Rules, winning his first U.S. Championship in WWE (and first title for The Shield)—a mere seven months after his debut.

To read more including 13 greatest U.S Title matches and 50 awesome U.S. Champs, pick up the all American issue—featuring John Cena or SUBSCRIBE HERE and save 70 percent off newsstand sale price.



WWE Shows Latest Results

View all Shows