Competitors revealed for the World Heavyweight Championship Tournament!

MASSIVE REVEAL: 12 Superstars announced to compete for World Heavyweight Championship

Cody Rhodes, Damian Priest, Finn Bálor, Seth “Freakin” Rollins, Shinsuke Nakamura and The Miz will represent Raw, and AJ Styles, Austin Theory, Bobby Lashley, Edge, Rey Mysterio, and Sheamus will battle it out for SmackDown as 12 Superstars look to claim the World Heavyweight Title at Night of Champions.

Since the World Heavyweight Championship was introduced a few weeks ago, the buzz has been electric, with much of the WWE Universe wondering who could be the first champion.

The wait is now over, as 12 Superstars have been announced to compete for the title. The competitors include:


  • Cody Rhodes
  • Damian Priest
  • Finn Bálor
  • Seth "Freakin" Rollins
  • Shinsuke Nakamura
  • The Miz


  • AJ Styles
  • Austin Theory
  • Bobby Lashley
  • Edge
  • Rey Mysterio
  • Sheamus

WWE Chief Content Officer Triple H outlined the format of the tournament at the WWE Backlash press conference and noted the title will be exclusive to Raw regardless of the winner's brand.

Triple H reveals that the World Heavyweight Title Tournament will begin after WWE Backlash: WWE Backlash Press Conference

WWE Chief Content Officer Triple H explains that the World Heavyweight Championship Tournament will kickoff one day after WWE Backlash with two Triple Threat Matches on Raw and two Triple Threat Matches on SmackDown. Catch WWE action on Peacock, WWE Network, FOX, USA Network, Sony India and more. #WWEBacklash

Who will be in the match to crown the new World Heavyweight Champion at WWE Night of Champions? Find out when the tournament begins this Monday on Raw and concludes Friday on SmackDown!

WWE Shows Latest Results

View all Shows