AJ Lee and the 5 longest reigning Divas Champions

Back in July 2008 when Michelle McCool defeated Natalya in a tournament final to become the first Divas Champion, the WWE Universe was slow to embrace the new title. The Women’s Championship had long stood as the standard-bearer for female wrestling with a lineage that dated back to The Fabulous Moolah’s emergence as champion in 1956. What did this new title have going for it besides a strange butterfly faceplate?

Check out photos of every Diva to hold the Divas Title

Over time, though, the Divas Championship became the focal point of the division as it enveloped the Women’s Title while making stars out of Beth Phoenix, Maryse and, most recently, current champion AJ Lee. With the wicked Ms. Lee reaching a major career milestone this week, WWE.com looked at the five Divas who not only kept the tightest grasp on the butterfly, but made it the premier prize for women’s wrestling.