7 must-watch Beat the Clock Challenge times

Jerry Lawler vs. Daniel Bryan - Beat the Clock Challenge: Raw, April 30, 2012

Daniel Bryan and Jerry Lawler battle in the last Beat the Clock Challenge Match.

The Beat the Clock Challenge is among the most grueling obstacles on a WWE Superstar's path to glory, both physically and mentally. The rules are simple: a series of matches are set, and whichever Superstar wins his contest the fastest, wins the Challenge. Typically, it is only used when deciding on some kind of prize, typically either a No. 1 contender's spot or a valued entry in a battle royal. 

The pressure is on the ring warriors who take on the Challenge to not only defeat their opponents, but to do so decisively and swiftly; planning is half the battle, and conditioning will handle the rest. Most recently, Daniel Bryan ushered himself into the Beat the Clock winners' circle when he made Jerry "The King" Lawler submit to the "Yes!" Lock and beat Randy Orton's earlier victory time of 4:16 (Orton himself beat a 4:18 mark set by The Miz) ( PHOTOS). For his prize, the submission specailist received a WWE Title opportunity against CM Punk at Over the Limit ( PREVIEW), but Bryan is hardly the first person to beat his opponent, the odds, and the clock all in one fell swoop. Here are some of the other memorable Beat the Clock victories in WWE history.

December 6, 2011: Randy Orton def. Dolph Ziggler in 7:51

SmackDown: Randy Orton vs. Dolph Ziggler - Beat the Clock Challenge

SmackDown: Randy Orton vs. Dolph Ziggler - Beat the Clock Challenge

In one of the more thrilling Beat the Clock Challenges, Randy Orton and Wade Barrett each competed for the opportunity to choose the stipulation for their match at TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs. Barrett set the time at 7:53 with a win over Ezekiel Jackson and did everything in his power to ensure Orton would not match the mark against Dolph Ziggler. Despite Barrett’s interference, The Viper pulled off a last-second win to beat Barrett’s time by 2 seconds, giving him the chance to pick the stipulation. ( PHOTOS) Barrett burst forth with a sneak attack, but Orton fended off the assault and ultimately selected a Tables Match – making an example out of Ziggler in the process.

January 1, 2010: Rey Mysterio def. Chris Jericho in 7:19

The Ultimate Underdog conquered the Beat the Clock Challenge when he defeated Chris Jericho in 7:19, earning the right to face The Undertaker for the World Heavyweight Championship at the Royal Rumble. ( PHOTOS) Mysterio’s time bested CM Punk’s win against Matt Hardy by a single second, but he was forced to interrupt Batista’s own effort against R-Truth to preserve his time. Given Mysterio’s interference, SmackDown GM Vickie Guerrero negated his win and declared a one-on-one match for the following week between The Animal and The Master of the 619 to determine the true No. 1 contender – a contest in which Mysterio ultimately prevailed.

May 3, 2010: John Cena def. Wade Barrett in 4:39

WWE Champion John Cena stepped up in a big way and made Wade Barrett submit to the STF when Chris Jericho forced the Englishman to face Cena in his stead. ( PHOTOS) The raw talent of Barrett kept him in the match for a few minutes, but Cena’s experience proved the difference maker, and The Champ emerged victorious. His prize? Control over the stipulation of his WWE Title Match against Batista at WWE Over the Limit, which turned out to be the fateful “I Quit” Match that sealed The Animal’s fate in WWE.

January 4, 2008: Rey Mysterio def. Edge in 4:32

Rey Mysterio vs. Edge - Beat the Clock Challenge: SmackDown, January 4, 2008

Rey Mysterio must beat the clock and the World Heavyweight Champion Edge to get a title shot at Royal Rumble 2008.

Interference from The Undertaker helped Mysterio defeat Edge in 4:32 to earn an opportunity at The Ultimate Opportunist’s World Heavyweight Title at the 2008 Royal Rumble. The Phenom’s sorcery left Edge incapacitated, allowing Mysterio to surpass the mark set by Chavo Guerrero’s earlier win over Funaki in 6:02. ( PHOTOS)

July 27, 2009: John Cena def. The Miz in 4:28

John Cena vs. The Miz - Beat the Clock Challenge: Raw, July 27, 2009

John Cena and The Miz both try to beat Mark Henry's time in the Beat the Clock Challenge and hope to face WWE Champion Randy Orton at SummerSlam.

With a potential WWE Title bout against Randy Orton at stake, the Cenation leader wasted no time in forcing The Awesome One to tap to a mangling STF in July 2009. ( PHOTOS) The win was enough to negate earlier times by Mark Henry and Evan Bourne, giving Cena an opportunity to face The Apex Predator for the ultimate prize at SummerSlam.

December 26, 2005: Kane def. The Heart Throbs in 0:25

Kane vs. The Heart Throbs - Beat the Clock Challenge: Raw, December 26, 2005

Kane must beat the clock by defeating two men to earn the final entrant in the Elimination Chamber Match at New Years Resolution 2006.

The swift rage of The Devil’s Favorite Demon helped him score a monstrous Beat the Clock Challenge victory when he pinned The Heart Throbs in 25 seconds. The Handicap Match win pushed The Big Red Monster past the 1:16 mark set by Daivari against Kurt Angle, and gave him the opportunity to enter the Elimination Chamber Match last at New Year's Revolution 2006.

WWE Shows Latest Results

View all Shows