Eve won a Fatal 4-Way Match (New Divas Champion)

Page 1 of 1
January 30, 2011

BOSTON -- In a shocking turn of events at a sold-out TD Banknorth Garden, Raw's Anonymous General Manager evened the odds in Natalya's Divas Championship defense against Lay-Cool, ordering the bout as a Fatal 4-Way Match. This decision would set the stage for Eve to compete and capture the butterfly for the second time in her young career -- though not without serious controversy. (PHOTOS)

The battle was fierce and competitive as the quartet of sexy, smart and powerful Divas each desired to hold the coveted title en route to the Road to WrestleMania. When the dust settled, it was Eve pinning Layla to emerge victorious. However, the referee might have thought twice about handing Eve her second Divas Title had he seen Michelle simultaneously pinning Natalya behind him.

At Survivor Series last November, Natalya defeated Lay-Cool in a 2-on-1 Handicap Match to win the Divas Title. She then subsequently bested both Michelle McCool and Layla in singles competition.

However, the "Flawless" duo believed that this time they had Natalya figured out, and could reclaim the butterfly-emblazoned prize once and for all at Royal Rumble. That is, until Raw's anonymous General Manager changed the scheduled Handicap Match to a Fatal 4-Way, introducing Eve as a surprise competitor.

Although Lay-Cool could still capture the title, the expression on their faces emphasized the realization that their chances of coming out victorious had significantly decreased. Unfortunately for Natalya, her chances of retaining the title didn't improve, either. Both she and Eve were well aware that the champion did not have to be pinned or submit in order to lose the coveted championship. Ironically, Eve knew that fact better than all her opponents; just last June, she lost the coveted butterfly in a Fatal 4-Way Match without being pinned.

Having learned from her past experience, Eve capitalized on the opportunity to pin Layla, even though it can be argued that Michelle was justified in protesting the referee's decision. Her arguments would fall on deaf ears, however -- probably because the unsympathetic capacity crowd in Boston's TD Banknorth had drowned her out while cheering for their new Divas Champion.

View Comments

ArticlesYou May Also Like