Four champs, one contract: Tracing the WWE Title history of Cena, Jericho, Big Show and Kane

Page 2 of 5
July 01, 2012

John Cena

John Cena

Number of WWE Title reigns: 10

Last time he won a WWE Title: Sept. 18, 2011 – Night of Champions

The gold lowdown: No current Superstar has touched championship gold more times than John Cena. In the last seven years of his WWE career, he's amassed an incredible 10 WWE Championships, none more special than his very first championship victory against JBL at WrestleMania 21. That reign, which lasted a whopping 280 days, was the beginning of a special run for The Champ, one that has included successful title defenses against WWE icons like Triple H, Shawn Michaels and Edge over the years. Still, as Cena told in an exclusive interview, every WWE Title feels more fulfilling than the last – and his drive for capture the gold never stops.

"There was a giant sense of excitement the very first time I won – and a sense of relief. I truly thought that would be it … but it's weird, because this thing just never ends," Cena said. "As a kid, you want to be WWE Champion. Then, you're WWE Champion. And then, it's not enough. You want to keep it. So OK, let's win it again."

Winning it again and again hasn't proven to be difficult for the Cenation leader, and it seems like he's actually picking up steam in recent years. Five of his 10 WWE Title reigns have come since 2010 and three in 2011 alone. And for those that may argue that a Money in the Bank Ladder Match is not exactly in Cena's wheelhouse, it's important to note that it was at Unforgiven 2006 when he conquered Edge in a Tables, Ladders and Chairs Match to kick off a 380-day WWE Championship reign – the fourth-longest WWE Title reign in history. (WATCH | PHOTOS: CENA'S 10 WWE TITLE WINS)

View Comments
John Cena Bio, Videos, Photos, and News Articles Big Show Bio, Videos, Photos, and News Articles Kane Bio, Videos, Photos, and News Articles Chris Jericho Bio, Videos, Photos, and News Articles